change log


2023

8/22: I added my first, formal chapter (for The Vanishing Act) and adjusted the font size and margin widths specifically for those chapter pages. It was a lot easier that I thought it would be; I must thank UM for such clear coding when she made me my grid. Though, I still haven't optimized the way I add those paragraph tags to my stories... I'm still adding them manually. Copying-and-pasting at the start and end of each paragraph, if you are so curious. Yesterday, actually, I finished the first draft for that project and I will be going through and editing it. This was just a preliminary test to see if it was possible to add a large amount of text to a website without hitting the limit.

8/01: I managed to center the grid that UM made for me with the good-old, reliable center tag, and fixed the margin issue that came with it. These are changes/issues that probably went unnoticed because at this point in time, and not for the far-future, I have no advertised that this site exists yet nor is my site visually interesting to appeal to the website searcher. I've also not embedded by writing on here yet, but I was talking to GG the other day when we were hanging out and he told me he'd help me write a Python script such that after every line break, the paragraph tag would be automatically added in - which would make this whole transferring a word document to HTML code process a whole lot easier. So, I suppose that's the next big update for this site.

I wish I was more web design saavy to make my website more interesting to navigate and look through but I honestly don't know what to add. There's a lot of creativity coming from the webmasters on neocities and I know a lot of it is limited to what I can do with HTML and CSS but I can't think of anything else - visually at least - to add? UM suggested that I can make a header for my landing page but I see that sort of addition unnecessary... if it works, why fix it? Eh. I guess in the end I can do whatever I want.

Also. As I get older, I realize that I need a bigger font to read and unfortunately, 12pt font isn't cutting it. I need to adjust the font size. At some point. I'd probably have to make a css thing for that. Man.

7/27: I tried formatting my chapters (starting with Singularity) to fit the style but uh, turns out you cannot simply just copy and paste text directly from a document and expect it to magically reformat itself. I don't know what I was expecting to be honest. I could do the easy way and link the corresponding document with the chapter but that... sort of defeats the purpose of having a website, no? So, I guess what I'm trying to say is that at some point, I will have to painstakingly encode paragraph tags into my writing so that it will be officially hosted by this site. A later problem for a later time.

I am also considering adding a link to an excel file to show my progress with these projects - the ongoing ones anyway. Of course, I actually have to set up the spreadsheet first because its all done with pen and paper, and do I really have the motivation to update the same sheet twice?

7/25: As my bigger projects - well, just the one - come to a close after nearly a year of work, I was once again compelled to work on this website, as an easier way to direct anyone who would want to read my stories. The grid layout is finally done, but not by me. It was coded by my dear friend, U.M.. Of course, I still have to fill in the fake-Latin text with actual substance but I'm glad that she caught the soul of my idea perfectly.

The hard part of setting up this website is over. Now, there's a proper storage space for all my stories. Though, in the interim year that I have been gone and this website had been gathering dust, I was accepted into a M.S program and a new research assistant job in the city. The halcyon days of me having free time after work are almost over. I must savor this free time while I still have it - but will my motivation carry out my intention? Only time will tell. Literally. Since you guys can see how much time has passed between each entry.

2022

9/6: I had a convervation with a friend recently who asked if I had a website where I published my writing which once again reminded me that yes, this site does exist (not like they would care enough to read but the question was asked with good intentions). Minor changes. I removed the ToCs from the novella page and gave each novella their own ToC page. Whether I have the willpower to split my novellas into separate chapters remains to be seen but at least it looks less busy. I also added my AO3 onto the navigation page and added one more short story to the appropriate page, as well as an obligatory about page.

Now that I'm cataloging my works, I can't tell whether I have written a lot or too little. I suppose if you compound my fanfiction work, then I have been quite busy. I'm certainly writing more now that I'm out of university. Still, I feel like I should be doing more.

I haven't fixed any of the aforementioned issues yet and my CSS skills have a lot to be desired from. I might actually have to ask a real person.

6/18: Turns out you can use the "margin" line to kind of center a whole grid. I did it on my PC, but because my PCs screen is bigger than my laptop's, the latter shows the grid just a little bit (re: a lot) too far to the right. I still haven't figured out a way to fix this such that the grid is centered for all screens. I must be wording my searches wrong... also, I added a more complete summary of Singularity and added more titles/summary to the short stories page.

6/15-6/16: After reading yet another article about the monolopolization of the internet and the increasing scarcity of individuality, I decide to come back here two months after creating this site. Added a change log (welcome), created the skeleton of my novellas, and played around with a grid layout with limited success on my short stories page (this is a cry for help: how do i center a grid).